One of the truly great racing drivers

On her 73th birthday I would like everyone to read about, or to see this about, Michèle Mouton, one of the truly great racing drivers on the 20th century.

(Youtube)

The video above is just one of many tributes to her and if you know of her, you’ll understand why. Recalling when she won the 2-litre prototype class in the 1975 24 Heures du Mans together with Marianne Hoepfner and Christine Dacremont, she said:

It started to rain I remember, and I started to pass everybody. I was running on slicks. In the pits they were saying ‘Michèle, you must stop’, but I did not want to because I was passing everyone.

Similarly, here’s a small excerpt from a film about her, this time about her record run in the, part gravel, part pavement, Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in 1985, averaging the speed of 105 km/h despite having to do a standing start:

(Youtube)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.