Sådan kan Apple stjæle din musik

Der er en grund til at jeg ikke vil overlade mine billeder og musik til cloud services, og da Apple kom med deres Apple Music service blev jeg da heller ikke omvendt. Men jeg må indrømme at James Pinkstone’s oplevelser som han beskriver i “Apple Stole My Music. No, Seriously.” alligevel overrasker mig, da jeg ikke havde forestillet mig at egne kreationer også ville gå tabt:

1. If Apple serves me my music, that means that when I don’t have wifi access, I can’t listen to it. When I say “my music,” I don’t just mean the music that, over twenty years (since before iTunes existed), I painstakingly imported from thousands of CDs and saved to my computer’s internal hard drive. I also mean original music that I recorded and saved to my computer. Apple and wifi access now decide if I can hear it, and where, and when.

2. What Apple considers a “match” often isn’t. That rare, early version of Fountains of Wayne’s “I’ll Do The Driving,” labeled as such? Still had its same label, but was instead replaced by the later-released, more widely available version of the song. The piano demo of “Sister Jack” that I downloaded directly from Spoon’s website ten years ago? Replaced with the alternate, more common demo version of the song. What this means, then, is that Apple is engineering a future in which rare, or varying, mixes and versions of songs won’t exist unless Apple decides they do. Said alternate versions will be replaced by the most mainstream version, despite their original, at-one-time correct, titles, labels, and file contents.

If Taxi Driver is on Netflix, Netflix doesn’t come to your house and steal your Taxi Driver DVD. But that’s where we’re headed. When it comes to music, Apple is already there.

Som han også skriver, hvis ikke du passer på, så ender det med at du kun kan se, høre og læse de versioner som store udbydere finder det passende at tillade dig adgang til. Jeg vil fortsat høre mine medier offline.

Dette indlæg blev udgivet i Jura, Udvikling og tagget , , . Bogmærk permalinket.

Et svar til Sådan kan Apple stjæle din musik

  1. Pingback: Og en gang til | Hennings blog

Skriv et svar

